Doodad Kind of Town


Back in Business!!!
June 5, 2010, 2:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Last summer, a good friend told me, “You need to write more often. You’re happier when you’re writing.”

My friend knows me better than I do.

Not that I haven’t been happy – sometimes deliriously so – during the three-and-a-half months that this blog has lain dormant. I fell in love during this time, and now have a wonderful Significant Other who makes my life fuller and sweeter, if also a bit more hectic.

Love is grand, but there’s also a writer here who’s been unproductive for far too long and is starting to feel unfulfilled. I’m itching to get back into the blogosphere, re-connect with fellow bloggers, and rejoin the conversation in cyberspace.

So here I am – launching Doodad Kind of Town once more. Stay tuned!

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Um…YAY!!!*stomps china doll feet and whistles*

Comment by Miranda Wilding

Make sure you put up a review of The Ruling Class when you watch it, now that you're back. Oh, and welcome back, Pat!

Comment by Greg

Greg -I will be sure to do that – but don't hold your breath! "The Ruling Class" has been on the queue for awhile and is nowhere near the top. I think "The Searchers" is the first up.

Comment by Pat

You've never seen The Searchers or you're just watching it again?

Comment by Greg

Patty, I'll be anticipating that RULING CLASS review with bated breath. Greg's totally right about that. I own the Criterion version. It's so fantastically bizarre (in the best way imaginable). Guarantee that it's like nothing you've ever seen before…and never will again. You and I are both Catholic girls. So let's just say that I'll be EXTREMELY INTERESTED in your opinion of this off the wall cinematic extravaganza. Peter O'Toole is just the closest thing to God imaginable. At least in this wild Irish princess' estimation. But you do whatever it is you have to do. It's fabulous to have you back.We'll wait…

Comment by Miranda Wilding

Greg -(hanging head in shame) -I have never seen "The Searchers." I figured it was high time I did.

Comment by Pat

Pat, we all know that each one of us has scores of classic films we haven't seen. Nothing to be ashamed about at all. There are so many I still haven't seen, I just don't have the guts to tell anyone.

Comment by Greg

Welcome back! Looking forward to your musings…

Comment by Fletch

Pat, I am thrilled for you, and applaud this glourious re-launch. Having met you in person, I can say up-front what a wonderful fun-loving and cultured person you are, and I must say I share your taste pretty much down the line.It will be great to gaze upon these divine pages again and read of your insights into film, theatre and music, knowing that said writer is as happy at this time in her life as she's ever been!A great big welcome back, my good friend!

Comment by Sam Juliano

Greg -I appreciate the reminder that we all have limitations in our film viewing. Sometimes I feel overawed by the wider experiences of other bloggers.Sam and Fletch -Thanks, it's very nice to be back!

Comment by Pat




Leave a Reply

