Doodad Kind of Town


The Founding Fathers Sing!
July 3, 2009, 2:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

While I love the stage musical of “1776,” I’m not a huge fan of the movie. Let’s just say it didn’t translate well to film.

Even so, this number – in which Jefferson, Adams, Franklin and others – argue about who’s gonna get stuck with writing the Declaration of Independence – is a real favorite of mine. The lyrics are irresistibly witty, even if the choreography is a bit uninspired.

Should you be curious to see the rest, “1776” will be aired on TCM this Independence Day at 10:15 pm EST (just in time to watch after the fireworks).

Happy Fourth of July everyone!!!!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy 4TH Of July Weekend, Patty!!!I'll dedicate my Fourth Of July post at CP (which includes a YOUTUBE video of the opening scene of MANHATTAN) to you. Hope you have a great one.

Comment by Miranda Wilding

I remember you and I discussing this when I put up a 1776 on Cinema Styles and we were in agreement. I saw a production in DC in 1989 (during the Constitution celebrations) that knocked my socks off. I had never seen the movie and thought to myself now I would finally give it a look. And then I did and it just didn't compare to what I had seen on stage. Still, like you say, it has its moments.

Comment by Greg

I wrote a largely favorable review of this film yesterday, and it took me almost four hours as I do tend to write slowly. The entire review eaten up by wordpress, when I clicked on the "draft" icon. Needless to say I was devastated. But then I took things in perspective and my mind wondered back to Michael Jackson, to get a dose of what real depression was. Well, for me it has more than just "moments." It'sd more in the way of an exhilarating piece with flaws. I have seen the original Broadway show and the recent revival, and I dare say for various reason sthis 1972 holds up to then quite well. I am re-writing my review right now and will have it posted later today, but I was distracted by your heading, when I quickly ran down the blogroll. Hope you've had a wonderful July 4th weekend, pat and thanks for the trailer!

Comment by Sam Juliano

Miranda -Thanks,sweetie! Love the "Manhattan" opening.Greg -I remember that discussion. I recently saw "1776" again, in a really fine local community theatre production. I loved it so much, I actually went back to see it a second time. It's a delightful and really moving show.Sam -I actually stayed up late last night and watched the second half of "1776" on TCM after returning home from watching fireworks. It actaully was better than I remembered, and William Daniels was particularly wonderful. I'll be anxious to read your review.

Comment by Pat

Yes, one thing that is undeniable is that William Daniels reprising his role from the Broadway production is terrific. Now I'll have to see it again to see what I think. Maybe it will seem better now.

Comment by Greg




Leave a Reply

