Doodad Kind of Town


Looking Eagerly Forward to "Whatever Works"
May 1, 2009, 2:51 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Regular readers of “Doodad Kind of Town” know that I have a passionate love/hate thing going on with Woody Allen.

I’ve frequently gushed all over his pre-1990 output; for me, the Golden Age of Woody ended abruptly with “Crimes and Misdemeanors.” And I’ve pretty much excoriated him for everything he’s done since I started this blog.

But hope springs eternal for the dedicated Woody fan, and I can’t begin to express how excited I am about Allen’s upcoming summer release, “Whatever Works.” That’s partly because he’s finally returning to Manhattan, where he really belongs. But it’s also because I believe Woody may well have found his perfect onscreen alter ego in star of “Whatever Works,” Larry David.

Woody has a long history of casting actors to play a version of himself in his films – the role has gone to everyone from Kenneth Branagh to Will Ferell to Jason Biggs to Scarlett Johannson.(Yeah, Woody’s onscreen in “Scoop,” but tell me that Johansson’s character – with her nervous, nonstop, self-deprecating chatter in response to Hugh Jackman’s attentions – isn’t some parallel version of the young Allen.) But none of those casting choices have made the kind of sense that David does.

David – on whom “Seinfeld’s” George Costanza was famously based and who’s been playing an exaggerated version of himself through six uproarious seasons of “Curb Your Enthusiasm” – has perfected the kind of neurotic, self-loathing, compulsively verbal New York Jewish persona that neatly complements Allen’s. (Allen is all about the Big Issues: love, death, and the meaning of life, while David’s character relentlessly sweats the small stuff – to the point of putting his wife’s farewell call from a potentially crashing airplane on hold while he deals with the Tivo repairman.) The potentially scintillating result of the collaboration between these two comic geniuses has me positively giddy.

The buzz on “Whatever Works” from its premiere at the recent Tribeca Film Festival is terrific, and Allen himself raves about David’s performance in this article from the New York Observer, which is a must-read for fans of both men.

“Whatever Works” opens in theaters this June. I can’t wait.

(Illustration above from observer.com)

21 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So you don’t like Husbands and Wives, Bullets Over Broadway, Mighty Aphrodite, Alice or Deconstructing Harry? Husbands and Wives and Deconstructing Harry in particular would top my favorites of his, and the rest I think range from very good to wonderful. I agree, some stinkers in there but the guy does have an incredible amount of output. Love to hear you elaborate.But yes, Whatever Works sounds like it could be funny. I’ll probably be writing more about it when it comes out (between that and the fact that Manhattan is screening at one of NY’s best theaters at the end of the month), but my biggest problems with Allen’s films this decade is that he kind of deals with the same crap he did 20, 30 + years ago. I want to know how a man who felt so afraid of death in his younger days feels about getting older, I don’t want to see him writing about young people that he doesn’t really understand, connect with, or like even.

Comment by Ryan Kelly

What Ryan said. Woody in the 90s made some great films. I’d say that Husbands & Wives, Bullets Over Broadway, Manhattan Murder Mystery, Deconstructing Harry, Celebrity and Shadows and Fog are particularly great, while a lot of the others have various things to recommend them. In my opinion Woody didn’t sink too low until the Dreamworks period, and he recovered from that quickly enough (I even love Anything Else, Jason Biggs and all). Woody’s supposed creative failure after the 90s is *way* overstated.I’m looking forward to Whatever Works, though I have to say that I’m actually not that interested in Larry David donning the Woody persona. I mean, is it that much of a stretch? Vicky Cristina Barcelona proved how great Woody could be working outside his comfort zone, so I can’t help but see this as being a bit more of a safe move. Then again, it could be entirely different from what I’m expecting, too.

Comment by Ed Howard

Ryan -Allow me to clarify – While I think Woody’s greatest work culminated with “Crimes and Misdemeanors,” I don’t hate ALL of his films since – just the ones released since I started blogging in 2006. Well,those and a few others from recent years – not a fan AT ALL of “Curse of the Jade Scorpion” for example.I actually like “Bullets over Broadway,” “Husband and Wives” and “Small Town Crooks” a lot, although none of them approach the greatness of his earlier films. “Deconstructing Harry” I didn’t much care for, although it’s been so long since I saw it, I’d probably have to see it again in order to elaborate on the reasons it didn’t work for me.Probably my biggest stumbling block in assessing Allen’s later work is that I was a college student in the late ’70s. Which means not only that I was besotted with Allen’s films at the time, but that I’m able to appreciate them in the cultural context of the time in which they were first released. As such, I find I often have a hard time appreciating his later work in the same way that younger critics do. To be clear, it doesn’t make me more right about Allen then younger viewers, because the way films hold up with audiences over the years is an important consideration. It just means that I tend to view Allen’s current films through a nostalgic filter that I freely admit may color my judgment now and then.As for this: … my biggest problems with Allen’s films this is decade is that he kind of deals with the same crap he did 20, 30+ years ago.I couldn’t agree with you more. And on a related note, he writes young characters of today as if they were living in the sixties or seventies. As recently as “Anything Else,” Jason Biggs and Christina Ricci were buying Billie Holiday and Cole Porter music on vinyl and didn’t own cell phones. Puhl-lease!

Comment by Pat

For what it’s worth, there are plenty of young people for whom buying Billie Holiday on vinyl is still the height of cool (and why shouldn’t it be?), and when Woody writes for young people he’s clearly writing for a certain very specific type of hip youngster, one that exists but is a distinct minority.The cell phone thing is another matter, of course.

Comment by Ed Howard

Ed-Thanks for the comments,and please see my reply to Ryan which ‘crossed paths’ with yours. Again, I’m not discounting everything Woody’s done since “Crimes and Misdemeanors,” although I’m far less than enchanted with almost everything he’s done in this century. “Vicky Cristina Barcelona” was a mixed bag for me, as I’ve noted many times, although it was a vast improvement over “Match Point” and “Cassandra’s Dream.” I tend to prefer the ‘Manhattan Neurotic’ version of Woody, which is why I’m so looking forward to “Whatever Works.” But then, I’d probably show up to watch Larry David read the phone book,let alone do an Allen film. I’m a pretty huge fan of his.

Comment by Pat

Ed-We keep crossing paths!I’m happy to hear that young people under 30 or so are still buying Billie Holliday records. None of the ones I know are doing that. I’m 49 and all my Billie Holiday is on CD, so what do I know?I tend to think that Woody writes those characters, though, because he isn’t really aware of any other kind of young adult.

Comment by Pat

I’m 27 and actually all my Billie is on CD too, though I do have lots of other vinyl. But the point is I find Woody’s depictions of young people convincing and realistic. You may be right though that Woody isn’t aware of any other type of young person — or at least he doesn’t care about them. Not that I can blame him: if you don’t listen to Billie Holiday why should I watch a movie about you? šŸ˜‰

Comment by Ed Howard

if you don’t listen to Billie Holiday, why should I watch a movie about you? :)”Ha! You’re far more generous to Woody than I am on this topic, but that’s fine. That’s what makes comments threads interesting. I tend to think Woody writes young people in his current films to be just like him and like the characters he’s written for himself and others in his own age bracket over the years. There’s not a lot of awareness that time has moved on. To me, that’s a shortcoming because the Woody I most cherish was once one of the people who defined the zeitgeist – but now seems entirely out of touch with the spirit of the times. Like Ryan, I’d rather see him explore that out-of-touch-ness and his own aging and mortality than keep writing anachronistic young characters.

Comment by Pat

Nothing I adore more than a vivid, colourful WOODY ALLEN discussion on a Saturday afternoon. Particularly with two such erudite, cinematically stoked gentlemen, along with the equally awesome proprietor of DKOT.(of course…)I'm hardly an optimist (it just doesn't come with the territory), but I always look forward to every new offering by WOODY. He's the master. He is my all time favourite director. WOODY is a fantastic writer (enormously witty, insightful and perceptive) and he knows more about the subtle workings of modern relationships than any filmmaker that ever shot a foot of celluloid. I've seen every motion picture that WOODY has directed and I do own a lot of them. I am in agreement with many of the thoughts expressed in this thread…and then I diverge on some other things. My personal opinion is that HUSBANDS & WIVES is his masterpiece. That's the BEST FILM that he's ever made from my POV. Right on the heels of that is one that is widely overlooked because he DIDN'T direct it: PLAY IT AGAIN, SAM. Other than that, I think that SLEEPER, HANNAH & HER SISTERS, ALICE, EVERYONE SAYS I LOVE YOU and CELEBRITY are all fantastic.His greatest triumphs have to be that late 70S trifecta: ANNIE HALL, INTERIORS and MANHATTAN. I can't see MANHATTAN ever dropping out of my personal WOODY TOP 5. Patty, don't kill me. But I liked CASSANDRA'S DREAM despite its serious flaws (even viewed it twice) and I would definitely put VICKY CRISTINA BARCELONA up there with the rest of his great works. I saw VCB seven times. Own the DVD. It's #3 on my 2008 TOP 10. I split with Ryan on the idea that WOODY is writing for and about young people that he has no comprehension or solid understanding of. That was one of the reasons I returned to the cinema to revisit VCB again and again. IT SPOKE TO ME. I not only look a hell of a lot like CRISTINA, I could be her emotional twin as well. (Well…except for the menage a trois junk – *yawn* take it somewhere else – and CRISTINA'S ridiculously eager tendency to take her relationships to an intimate level a little too quickly. Dudes have to walk their talk. Worship me or die…) What floored me was, as a 20something woman, that WOODY had CRISTINA using dialogue that had previously come out of my own mouth ("I am famous for my intolerance"/"I don't know what I want. I only know what I don't want") and his description of her fit me completely: an impulsive, nontraditional, free spirited romantic with a dark soul. So I was rather impressed. But I do agree with Ryan about DECONSTRUCTING HARRY (deliciously vulgar…) and with Pat on THE CURSE OF THE JADE SCORPION(that was a train that went absolutely nowhere). WOODY'S all time worst film (and NONE of them are astoundingly awful – generally just disappointments in relative comparison) IMO is MIGHTY APHRODITE. I'd easily put BANANAS and MATCH POINT out on the same ledge. Most fans seem to have a great fondness – or at least a distinct appreciation – for THE PURPLE ROSE OF CAIRO and CRIMES & MISDEMEANORS. I can't stand either of them. But, yeah…I definitely look forward to each new film like a kid on Christmas Eve (which is when all the best people open their presents. None of this sitting around for another 12 hours…) and I'm waiting with bated breath for this one. As Ed mentioned, WOODY appears to be moving out of his comfort zone and he seems to be in particular control of his creative powers once again. We may have some very pleasant surprises in store for us in the near future…

Comment by Miranda Wilding

Pat:I don’t hate ALL of his films since – just the ones released since I started blogging in 2006. …I’m not the biggest fan either but nobody’s perfect. I don’t hate ALL of his films since – just the ones released since I started blogging in 2006. …And that’s perfectly reasonable, and I’d see why someone would want to preserve those feelings. I agree, his 70s out put it wonderful, Love and Death and Manhattan would top my list of favorites of his, with Husbands and Wives and Crimes and Misdemeanors not far behind those. But there’s also nothing like being exposed to a film making style so idiosyncratic and have it feel like its ‘yours’. That would explain part of my fondness for Wes Anderson.As recently as “Anything Else,” Jason Biggs and Christina Ricci were buying Billie Holiday and Cole Porter music on vinyl and didn’t own cell phones. Puhl-lease!…Well, in fairness, I do own a record player and do own vinyl albums, though no Cole Porter. I think my dad has some Billie Holiday somewhere, though. I hadn’t seen that film, though, what I was expressly referring to was Melinda and Melinda, which I’ll confess to not being particularly fond of.

Comment by Ryan Kelly

Miranda:Particularly with two such erudite, cinematically stoked gentlemenThanks for the kind words! It’s hard to find true Allen appreciators and it’s always stimulating to find people who really do love him. You should read Ed’s blog if you like what he wrote here, as he has very eloquent reviews of a great majority of the man’s pictures.My personal opinion is that HUSBANDS & WIVES is his masterpiece. That's the BEST FILM that he's ever made from my POV….I wouldn’t argue with that sentiment for a second. The way he breaks free of his style is exhilarating, and it’s one of his most perceptive films. The scene with him and Sydney Pollack (RIP) in the Grocery store is maybe my favorite scene in his entire filmography.I split with Ryan on the idea that WOODY is writing for and about young people that he has no comprehension or solid understanding of. That was one of the reasons I returned to the cinema to revisit VCB again and again….I confess to having not seen VCB yet, and it’s very serious praise does make me curious. I do look forward to it very much. Again, I was referring mostly to Melinda and Melinda, which I really didn’t care for. I think his dislike of younger people kind of borders on contempt in that one, personally.Most fans seem to have a great fondness – or at least a distinct appreciation – for THE PURPLE ROSE OF CAIRO and CRIMES & MISDEMEANORS. I can't stand either of them….Care to elaborate on this? I do like The Purple Rose of Cairo but it is rather incidental, but I’ve never heard anyone rail against Crimes and Misdemeanors and would love to hear you go deeper with why.

Comment by Ryan Kelly

Ryan and Miranda – So nice to have you both “drop by” on a Saturday afternoon to share your thoughts. It’s always interesting to me to get a bunch of Woody fans together and to hear what each person’s faves and least-faves are. For me, the top five, in order of preference, are Annie Hall, Crimes and Misdemeanors, Manhattan, Love and Death and The Purple Rose of Cairo. In retrospect, I sound more dismissive of Woody’s 90s output than I really am. In truth,there are things in Everyone Says I Love You, Mighty Aphrodite and Celebrity that I really do like. But none of them reasonates with me the way his earlier films do.I concur with you,Ryan, that Melinda and Melinda was a huge disappointment – and a very good example of how badly Woody often writes for younger actors.Neither Deconstructing Harry or Alice did much for me, but I haven’t seen either of those since they were first released. And with the positive words from both of you – and Ed- I’m curious to revisit them. And possibly re-assess them. That can happen. The first time I saw Stardust Memories I hated it, but when I saw it again years later (and after having seen “8 1/2” a few times), I appreciated it much more.As for Husbands and Wives , I do like that film a lot, although it also felt a little creepy to me at the time I first saw it, given its subject matter and that it released close on the heels of that whole Soon Yi scandal. Judy Davis is pretty brilliant in that one.But Miranda says it best: “NONE of them are astoundingly awful – generally just disappointments in relative comparison.” That’s true, and I freely admit to being hard on Woody because I’ve seen the greatness that he’s capable of. But no one, no matter how genius, has a career entirely free of stumbles.As for buying music on vinyl -I stopped doing that myself around 1990,so I’m surprised – but pleasantly so – to find that people much younger than me have turntables and record albums. I have a pretty impressive viny collection, but I started building it around 1973!

Comment by Pat

An addendum to my previous comment – actually I do think Cassandra’s Dream is,to borrow Miranda’s phrase “astoundingly awful.” (Sorry, Miranda. I know other people who liked it,too, but I’m not one of them. You can link to my scathing review to find out why.) That’s at the bottom of the Woody filmograhy for me,and Match Point, Curse of the Jade Scorpion, and Melinda and Melinda are right down there with it.

Comment by Pat

Although I’m about as big a Woody Allen fan as there is, there are some that I like less than others, and it’s true that most of those are from the 90s on: Alice (though Ryan obviously disagrees), Jade Scorpion, Hollywood Ending, Melinda and Melinda (other than the extraordinary performance by Radha Mitchell). Mighty Aphrodite I’m somewhat ambivalent about. I also have complicated feelings for Cassandra’s Dream, which I think is in many ways a better, more substantial movie than Match Point — the treatment of class and social climbing is much more fully developed — but it suffers from the impression that Woody went back to the same well one time too many.

Comment by Ed Howard

Well, I'm back…Hopefully you had an awesome weekend, Patty. Music is wonderful for the soul.First of all, I'll kick this off with my own personal WOODY TOP 10. Have to confess it changes all the time. I know for a fact that it's quite a bit different than one that I idly submitted for a lark over at my good friend CRAIG KENNEDY's site LIVING IN CINEMA last summer. Pat, there are all kinds of feelings tied up in my appreciation of ANNIE HALL. It was the first official grown up date I had – back in the 90s when I was 16. I still love it. It's bathed in a golden glow of nostalgia. But, for me personally, I don't really have the deep connection with it that I used to have. Still a fabulous film. I just don't feel closer to it after all this time. Actually further removed from it. So I guess today it would be my #11.Ask me in another couple of months and it could conceivably be as high as #7. I have a huge respect for LOVE & DEATH. I thought it was very funny when I saw it years ago on TV. But it's been a long time since I've viewed it. I'm absolutely thrilled that you adore MANHATTAN so much, Patty. It's a treasured favourite of mine.So here we go…10. EVERYONE SAYS I LOVE YOU9. SLEEPER8. CELEBRITY7. HANNAH & HER SISTERS6. INTERIORS5. ALICE 4. VICKY CRISTINA BARCELONA3. MANHATTAN2. PLAY IT AGAIN, SAM1. HUSBANDS & WIVESYeah, I know that WOODY DIDN'T direct PIAS. But I adore it just the same. Patty, I WAS aware of your savage dislike of CASSANDRA'S DREAM. I read your review some time ago. I have no problem with your hatred. Though I enjoyed it enough to see it twice, it is VERY flawed. I can completely comprehend why someone would be rather contemptuous of it. As for Ryan…Aw, you're welcome, honey. You're right. Can't ever have enough WOODY aficionados on the net. I think his true fan base has stuck with him over time. There are still some of us out there who possess great reverence for his inimitable filmmaking skills. He makes such wonderful, well crafted motion pictures. He's a true auteur. There has never been anyone else like him. I don't think there ever will be again. Yeah, I am aware of Ed's site, ONLY THE CINEMA. He's a very fine writer with excellent taste. He's very knowlegeable about music as well – regardless of its obscurity. If I'm not mistaken, Ed also contributed to my birthday thread at Christmastime over at my site. So it's all good. Let me clarify regarding the bit about WOODY not being able to write for young people. When I made that remark, I automatically assumed that you had seen VCB. I have no idea what you'd think of it, but his style in that particular respect takes leaps and bounds in that film. VICKY and CRISTINA are both women in their 20s…and WOODY displays a remarkable understanding of the feminine psyche. BUT he also has some very realistic and intelligent ideas about the way relationships are in the new millennium as opposed to 20 or 30 years ago. So I actually do agree with you on that point up until VCB. Then his style and perceptions change completely. I didn't care much for MELINDA & MELINDA either. It was a fascinating premise that ultimately came off rather half baked. I thought that CHIWETEL EJIOFOR made a very glamorous romantic lead. I also felt that RADHA MITCHELL was fantastic. Award worthy, actually. It bothers me to no end that she doesn't appear to have gotten much mileage out of landing the lead in one of WOODY's films. I'm still watiting for her to get a substantial break. I think she's great."Care to elaborate on (your great dislike of C & M)?"Hah…I take my life into my hands, knowing full well that Pat placed CRIMES & MISDEMEANORS in her TOP 5.Ahhh. This is the way it is. No one gets out of this life unscathed…or alive. No matter who they are. There are three motion pictures in WOODY'S filmography that essentially tell the same story and possess enormous similarities in plot: C & M, MATCH POINT and CASSANDRA'S DREAM. The major difference is that the latter two are set in LONDON as opposed to NEW YORK. In each one, greed, lust and the longing for either a particular lifestyle or the power to continue in that manner all come into serious play. At least one murder will be committed in all of them. Of the three – though I had some issues with it – CASSANDRA'S DREAM is the only one that I enjoyed. AT ALL.WOODY has a particular personal philosophy that I don't adhere to. He thinks that luck (good or bad) rules our lives and that the universe is completely random, meaningless and inconsequential. Ryan, you have to understand some things going in. For a blonde, I have a rather dark temperament. I'm not a sunshine and daisies girl. I'm a realist. I have no difficulty with bleak or melancholy. They're part of life. My two all time favourite films (GONE WITH THE WIND and LAWRENCE OF ARABIA) have rather downbeat endings. In my DVD collection, there are a lot of comedies and musicals.But there is also THE ENGLISH PATIENT, FRANCES, THE HOURS, NEIL JORDAN'S version of THE END OF THE AFFAIR, THE WAY WE WERE, CARNAL KNOWLEDGE, WHO'S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF, CLOSER, BUTTERFIELD 8, THE BAREFOOT CONTESSA… None of those pull any punches…Off screen, certainly there are terrible things that happen to very good people. The evil portion of humanity does get away with some reprehensible acts. I have a real dislike of organized religion. But I have never abandoned my spirtuality. I've had rough spots in my life, as everyone has. But I firmly believe that there is a reason for EVERYTHING that transpires and that karma is the great equalizer. Some of these horrible people (and I use that term loosely) may appear to have walked away easily. But if they're still living, you have no idea what might happen to them before they're through. Hmmmm. Look at O.J. Simpson. If not, my theory is that they're going to have to answer for their misdeeds SOME TIME. IMO there is no such thing as a clean getaway. Something always happens. So I do think that there's a purpose behind all of this. Make no mistake. It is a cold, cruel world full of hard lessons. But there's also a lot of beauty – all around – that goes severely unappreciated. So that's why I don't care for MATCH POINT and PARTICULARLY C & M. C & M strikes me as patently false, ridiculous and very depressing. WOODY loses the woman of his dreams (MIA FARROW) to the loutish morally bankrupt filmmaker (ALAN ALDA). MARTIN LANDAU wants to be rid of the mistress who's become an utter inconvenience (ANJELICA HUSTON). He gets away with it without a scratch. Let's not even get into what happens to poor SAM WATERSTON. The good people lose. The scuzzballs win. Life is a misery. There is no God. Blah blah blah. The end. I've seen any number of people go on and on about C & M's brilliance. But I watched it many years ago and never had the slightest desire to revisit it. I just hope that my POV makes sense to someone reading it…But thanks to Pat, Ryan and Ed for this stimulating discussion. I wish people on the net would discuss WOODY more often. He is still a vital cinematic force to be reckoned with.

Comment by Miranda Wilding

Well, this is late to the party, so I’ll keep it short:1. I was the biggest Woody fan in the world in the 70s and through the mid-80s, but quit him with any regularity after “Hannah and Her Sisters” I’m afraid I was the prototypical give me the funny Woody kinda guy. Now that I have some perspective, I can see though his films were a mixed bag after “Crimes and Misdemeanors,” there were some winners in the mix. (Pat and I have had this discussion before).Second, I’m 55 (ok, I’ll be 56 on Thursday), and I’m moving toward putting all my music on my iPhone. Back in the day, in the 70s, I carefully preserved my vinyl, bought turntables with low-mass tone-arms, etc. But when CDs came along, I began to move to them almost immediately. The older I get the less time I have for obsession …Now, movies are another story …

Comment by Rick Olson

Hi kids! I'm back.Nice to see the discussion is still lively here.Ed – I know many people see good things in "Cassandra's Dream," but it left me absolutely cold. I'm a bit pressed for time at work today, otherwise I'd love to elaborate at great length. But if you click on my review under the list of 2008 films at right, you can see what my objections were.Miranda -Your Top Ten Woody list can change from week to week? Tell me about it! I looked at my top five again, and thought "Purple Rose of Cairo"? What about "Hannah and her Sisters"?????? So if I were doing it today, I'd replace "Purple Rose" with "Hannah." "Stardust Memories" is runner-up for my Top Five as well.As for your take on "C & M" – makes sense to me. I'm a sprirtual person myself, and if I idenitfy with anyone's point of view in that film, it's that of the Sam Waterston character (and, yeah, look what happens to him.) Yet I appreciate it as a masterful attempt to grapple with morality and ethics, embracing both the tragic and the comic. I don't agree with the film's conclusions about those issues, but I thoroughly enjoy the journey to those conclusions – and the way it challenges me to re-examine my own beliefs along the way. If a film does all that, it's great art.Rick – I figured you'd show up eventually, since you and I have gone around and around about Woody so many times in the past. Happy Birthday in advance. I still have all my old vinyl albums, and a turntable. But I admit, I rarely play them now, and have replaced most of my faves with CDs. But the real question is: do you have any Billie Holiday? : )

Comment by Pat

I think that I, too, have been disappointed by every Allen flick of the last 10 years or so (some more than others), but damnit, the casts always pull me in, and one starring David is likely to do it again.

Comment by Fletch

Fletch-Yeah, I think we’re of the same mind here. Larry David will be the big draw for “Whatever Works.”I read somewhere that David had small roles in “Radio Days” and “Another Woman.” I don’t remember him in those, of course, but it’d be fun to go back to them and find him.

Comment by Pat

He’s the voice of the neighbor in “Radio Days” who converts the father to communism.Maybe it’s because I’m a fan of Curb Your Enthusiasm, but I could spot David a mile away!

Comment by Ryan Kelly

Ryan -Thanks! I haven’t seen “Radio Days” in its entirety probably since it ws first released – which was before “Seinfeld,” let alone “Curb Your Enthusiasm.” So it would be fun to see it again and recognize David’s voice. It’s also fun, now, to see Julia Louis-Dreyfus and Lewis Black – however briefly – in “Hannah and her Sisters.”

Comment by Pat




Leave a Reply

