Doodad Kind of Town


And Yet Another Meme… Actors this Time
December 19, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
You knew it was only a matter of time.

After the “20 Favorite Actresses” meme took the blogosphere by storm, it was inevitable that the “20 Favorite Actors” lists would immediately follow. Miranda, of the fabulous CINEMATIC PASSIONS, has posted a list of her favorite men of the screen. Here’s mine.

And I cheated. I couldn’t stop at 20, I had to go up to 23.

And now, in alphabetical order (and notes on the performances I’ve most loved) I give you:

1. Mathieu Amalric (Kings and Queen, Heartbeat Detector, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly)

2. Alec Baldwin (Working Girl, The Cooler, Running with Scissors, 30 Rock)

3. Warren Beatty (Bonnie and Clyde, Reds, Heaven Can Wait, Bulworth)


4. Kenneth Branagh (Henry V, Dead Again, Hamlet)

5. Marlon Brando (Streetcar Named Desire, On the Waterfront, The Godfather

6. Michael Caine (Alfie, The Man Who Would be King, Hannah and Her Sisters)

7. George Clooney (O Brother Where Art Thou?, Good Night and Good Luck)

8. John Cusack (Say Anything, Being John Malkovich, Grosse Point Blank)

9. Daniel Day Lewis (My Left Foot, The Last of the Mohicans, There Will be Blood)

10. Robert Downey, Jr. (Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, Wonder Boys, Restoration, Chaplin)

11. Victor Garber (Titanic, Godspell, Alias, Me and My Shadows)

12. Cary Grant (Bringing Up Baby, His Girl Friday, The Awful Truth, North by Northwest)

13. Hugh Grant (Impromptu, All About a Boy, American Dreamz, Four Weddings and a Funeral)

14. Gene Hackman (Bonnie and Clyde, The Conversation, Hoosiers, The Royal Tennenbaums)

15. Tom Hanks (Nothing in Common, Big, Philadelphia, Catch Me if You Can)

16. Dustin Hoffman (The Graduate, Tootsie, Papillon, Little Big Man)

17. Phillip Seymour Hoffman (Flawless, Boogie Nights, Capote, The Savages)

18. Anthony Hopkins (Magic, Silence of the Lambs, Amistad, Shadowlands, The Edge)

19. Ben Kingsley (Mrs. Harris, Schindler’s List, Triumph of Love, House of Sand and Fog)

20. Jack Lemmon (Some Like it Hot, The Apartment, Days of Wine and Roses, The China Syndrome)

21. Robert Redford (The Way We Were, All the President’s Men, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid)

22. Kevin Spacey (The Usual Suspects, American Beauty)

23. Billy Bob Thornton (Sling Blade, Pushing Tin, Primary Colors, Bad Santa, A Simple Plan)

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Too cool for school, girl. Thank you for the link. I'm very honoured, Pat. You're such a kind, generous person. There aren't as many chicks on the net blogging about cinema as compared to dudes. I think we girls have to stick together. BUT THIS LIST…Talk about overlap. I guess we are drawn to many similar things in terms of men in the movies (and elsewhere, I would imagine). I am unaccountably THRILLED to see KENNETH BRANAGH, MICHAEL CAINE, ROBERT DOWNEY JR., CARY GRANT, ANTHONY HOPKINS, JACK LEMMMON and ROBERT REDFORD on your list. Seeing as they're on mine as well. I'll go through the rest and give my impressions. If I'm equally passionate about the performances you outlined (and I am about many), I'll mention that too. So this is how it all shakes out for me…I thought initially that WARREN BEATTY (BONNIE & CLYDE, REDS, HEAVEN CAN WAIT) was going to make it. But I just couldn't find room for him. Sexy as hell. Very charismatic. Excellent director too. DDL (MY LEFT FOOT, THERE WILL BE BLOOD) JUST missed the cut. BY INCHES. The guy's BRILLIANT and he's got that hot Irish blood flowing. I am totally in awe of him. GENE HACKMAN (BONNIE & CLYDE, THE CONVERSATION, THE ROYAL TENENBAUMS) is another truly magnificent actor that narrowly missed making my 20. He is someone that I've admired since childhood. Unbelievsbly talented. I'm very fond of JOHN CUSACK (SAY ANYTHING). I like GEORGE CLOONEY A LOT. VICTOR GARBER is cool. I've adored DUSTIN HOFFMAN since I was little. THE GRADUATE & TOOTSIE are still two of my all time favourite films (I own them) and his performances in both of those modern classics are sensational. PHILIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN is easily one of the best character actors to ever set foot in front of a movie camera. BEN KINGSLEY is a towering talent with a very impressive range. KEVIN SPACEY (THE USUAL SUSPECTS, AMERICAN BEAUTY) is equally fabulous no matter what he takes on. HE CAN DO IT ALL. FANTASTIC LIST, Pat. *applauds wildly*

Comment by Miranda Wilding

Oh…I just realized I forgot HUGH GRANT (IMPROMPTU). He’s adorable…

Comment by Miranda Wilding

Miranda,Thank you, sweetie. You are too kind.I do think our tastes run in the same directions, so it’s really nice to hear from you and swap our observations, thoughts, etc.BTW, Victor Garber is on this list primarily because I’ve had a crush on him since I was 13. He’s gorgeous, and I belive he’s a finer actor than his film and television roles allow us to see. His stage credits are very impressive, run the gamut from musicals to Shakespeare, Shaw, Moliere, Ibsen, Stoppard, Noel Coward, etc. I would love to see him on stage some day.

Comment by Pat

Good list … Ben Kingsley especially, but what about the role that made him famous — Ghandi? And my favorite Kingsley movie, “Sexy Beast”?

Comment by Rick Olson

Rick -Ok, I’ll concede that Kingsley was a great Gandhi, but film itself it just so dull and dry(and unintentionally hilarious in one or two places), that I just tend to forget it.I blush to tell I have not seen “Sexy Beast.”

Comment by Pat

Pat, you HAVE to see SEXY BEAST. Ben Kingsley is absolutely scorching. He’s the total antithesis of Gandhi.Just flat out scary.DON LOGAN is NOT a guy that you think twice about saying no to.He is, as the Brits say, pure dead brilliant in that…

Comment by Miranda Wilding

Wonderful list, Pat. There are just too many wonderful choices out there. I may do one this weekend, but I fear permanent brain lock trying to narrow it down.

Comment by Rachel

Ok,if both Rick and Miranda like “Sexy Beast,” it has to be great. I’ts going in to the Netflix queue.Rachel, it is very hard to keep the list down-to-size – I certainly couldn’t stick to 20. Will look forward to seeing your list when you post it.

Comment by Pat

I love that you picked Victor Garber. He’s really great, isn’t he!BTW, I’ve changed my movie choice for the film club. Details at Jonathan’s and the film club site.

Comment by Marilyn

Marilyn,Yes, Victor is the best!!!Going over to check your new film choice now….

Comment by Pat




Leave a Reply

