Doodad Kind of Town


Another Day, Another Meme…
December 18, 2008, 3:10 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Tonight, I’ve decided to take up Rachel’s open invitation to the “ONE” meme. It’s easy, it’s fun and it’s a little revealing.

Here it is:

1.One movie that made you laugh: Tropic Thunder

2. One movie that made you cry: Finding Neverland

3. One movie you loved when you were a child: Mary Poppins

4. One movie that you have seen more than 10 times: Some Like it Hot

5. One movie you’ve seen multiple times in the theater: Amadeus. I saw it five or six times. I was like the “Amadeus” evangelist – I kept telling people, “You have to see this!” and then bringing different sets of friends to the theatre with me for repeated viewings. I think I may have been responsible for as many as 25 people seeing that film.

6. One movie you walked out on: The Last King of Scotland. Not because it was bad, but because it got too intense and gruesome for me. When Forrest Whittaker pulled out those hooks, I said to myself “I know what happens next and I don’t want to watch.” And I hightailed it out of there.

7. One movie that you can and do quote from: Fargo. And so can most of my friends. We can drop lines like “Blood has been shed, Jerry” or “He’s fleein’ the interview!” into a conversation, and everyone knows what’s going on.

8. One movie you loved, but were embarrassed to admit it: Life if Beautiful. No real cinephile is supposed to like it, and the second half teeters a bit uncomfortably on the narrow edge of tastelessness. But I think the first half is one of the most sublime comic romances ever put on film.

9. One movie that you keep meaning to see but just haven’t gotten around to watching yet: Here are two: Dogville and Manderlay. They’ve both been in their red Netflix envelopes gathering dust for weeks. I keep meaning to have my little Lars Von Trier double feature, and then blog about it, but something better always comes up.

10. One movie you hated: Cassandra’s Dream. Definitely the worst movie Woody Allen ever made.

11. One movie that scared you: Dr. Strangelove. Yeah, it’s funny, but it’s a real uncomfortable kind of funny. That scene where Slim Pickens is riding the bomb, yippin’ and yahooin’all the way, sends chills up my spine.

12. One movie that made you happy: Slumdog Millionaire. It wasn’t a happy film all the way through, but the ending was so joyous.

13. One movie that made you miserable: Jarhead

14. One movie musical for which you know all the lyrics to all the songs: I’d have trouble naming one I didn’t know all the lyrics to. I’m a musical theatre geek.

15. One movie that you have been known to sing along with: Evita, when no one else is watching it with me (And yes, I know all the lyrics.)

16. One movie you would recommend that everyone see: I Served the King of England. It wasn’t released nearly as widely as it should have been.

17. One movie character you’ve fallen in love with: Mark Darcy (Colin Firth) in the Bridget Jones movies

18. One actor that would make you more inclined to see a movie: Mathieu Amalric

19. One actor that would make you less likely to see a movie: Adam Sandler

20. One of the last movies you saw: Funny Face

21. One of the next movies you hope to see: Milk

And now, would you like to play? Then, consider yourself tagged!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I would have to say that Colin Firth's Mr. Darcy in the BBC version of Pride & Prejudice is one I've fallen in love with. Pretty close.Great list, Pat!

Comment by Rachel




Leave a Reply

