Doodad Kind of Town


"Wanted" – A Bad Movie that Generates Really Entertaining Reviews
July 28, 2008, 11:50 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized



As I’ve previously noted, I consider “Wanted” the worst movie I’ve seen so far this year. But I’ve sure enjoyed reading some of the reviews. Something about the film’s over-the-top visuals and violence just brings out the kick-ass humorist in reviewers. I only the film had been as much fun as Fletch’s review over at Blog Cabins.

And then today, I was skimming through some back issues of the New Yorker, and found this gem from critic Anthony Lane:

“What is it like being Timur Bekmambetov? No artist should be confused too closely with his creations, but anybody who sits through “Wanted,” Bekmambetov’s new movie, will be tempted to wonder if the life style of the characters might not reflect or rub off on that of the director. How, for example, does he make a cup of coffee? My best guess, based on the evidence of the film, is that he tosses a handful of beans toward the ceiling, shoots them individually into a fine powder, leaves it hanging in the air, runs downstairs, breaks open a fire hydrant with his head, carefully directs the jet of water through the window of his apartment, sets fire to the building, then stands patiently with his mug amid the blazing ruins to collect the precious percolated drops. Don’t even think about a cappuccino.”

Damn, I wish I’d written that!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ha – yea, it looks like Lane and I were on the same page with Wanted.Thanks for the love – I actually had to go back and re-read my review – I’d forgotten what I’d written!

Comment by Fletch

I enjoy Roger Ebert when he’s peeved about a movie. I think his Doom review remains my favorite. “Doom has one great shot. It comes right at the beginning. It’s the Universal logo.” – Roger Ebert

Comment by David Bishop

That is an awesome paragraph. Thank’s for sharing, Pat. I wished I had written it as well.

Comment by Evan Derrick

I think this movie was awesome. Sure its got a few problems, but it was probably the most fun I had at the theaters in awhile. Cool blog by the way

Comment by Farzan

Farzan – I’m glad you liked “Wanted” – many others did – but it didn’t cut it for me. Thanks for stopping by!

Comment by Pat




Leave a Reply

