Doodad Kind of Town


Charlton Heston 1924-2008
April 6, 2008, 5:16 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I turned on the local news this morning before church to discover that Charlton Heston had died.

I was never a big fan of Heston’s, nor do I consider him a great actor. However, I grew up in a movie-loving household, where my dad often led my brother and I to certain movies he considered great. “Ben Hur” -for which Heston received an Oscar – was one of those. The network television premiere of “Ben Hur” was a major family event -I think we even got to eat dessert in front of the TV that night so as not to miss a single minute. That was the first thing I remembered upon hearing the news of Heston’s passing.

I had forgotten about Heston’s atypically amusing portrayal of Cardinal Richelieu in Richard Lester’s mid-1970s remake of “The Three Musketeers,” but the remembrance on Coosa Creek Mambo this morning jogged my memory. (In fact, it made me want to go back and see the movie again.)

Sad that Heston’s final appearance on film was in Michael Moore’s “Bowling for Columbine,” responding with anger and befuddlement to Moore’s questions about the NRA and school shootings. Given the subsequent revelations about Heston’s battle with Alzheimer’s, Moore looks all the more villainous for staging what was essentially an ambush of Heston in his own home.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t consider him a great actor, either, and I do not appreciate his shilling for the NRA. However, he was an icon for a long time, and the NRA used him, to a certain extent, and although I’m generally a fan of Moore, that was a low point in his doc. Thanks for the shout-out.(btw, it’s easier for us without active blogger blogs to comment if you change the setting in your dashboard that lets folk other than blogger members comment)

Comment by Rick Olson

Thanks, Rick – I’ve changed my Comments settings.

Comment by Pat

I never thought Heston was a fantastic actor either, but there’s no arguing he was an icon. So I watched “The Omega Man” yesterday afternoon, in rememberance.

Comment by Mrs. Thuro

Rick, Mrs. Thuro – I do agree that Charlton Heston was a screen icon, and a powerful presence in his films.

Comment by Pat

I didn’t like him, so I have seen very few of his films. The only one I know–and I can practically recite it by heart–is the epic soap opera The Ten Commandments. His brand of cheese mixed very well with the movie’s macaroni.

Comment by Marilyn

RIP Dear Moses.I felt so sad when I saw him in interviews in his later years. It was obvious his brain was betraying him.Lovley day.

Comment by Parisjasmal




Leave a Reply

