Doodad Kind of Town


Is it Just Me?
February 25, 2008, 4:56 pm
Filed under: Oscars

… or were the Oscars really boring this year?

I’m sitting here the morning after, thinking “Not much to dish about today. No ‘water cooler’ moments, nothing particularly memorable.”

I remember laughing a lot at Jon Stewart’s monologue, but would be hard pressed to repeat one of his jokes today.

There wasn’t even a good fashion faux pas to hoot at. The crowd at our Oscar party could muster only mild irritation at the parade of hair dos like this one on Jennifer Garner:

Sort of the “glammed up from the neck down – hair as afterthought” look. It’s the Oscars, ladies! Please – do something with your hair! (I can hear my own mother scolding “Get that hair out of your eyes!”)

I’m really over Katherine Heigl (as my friend, Mary Anne, said, “Her 15 minutes are up”) – but at least she had a real hairdo:

I’m thrilled that Diablo Cody took home the award for Best Original Screenplay, but would love to have seen her in something other than this, accurately described by another partygoer as “Wilma Flintstone goes to to the Oscars.” But even this doesn’t approach the classic Oscar faux pas level of, say, Bjork’s swan dress:

One of the highlights of the evening for me was Tilda Swinton’s Best Supporting Actress win for “Michael Clayton.” I hadn’t thought she would win, but she certainly deserved to. But, would someone PLEASE put some makeup on this woman! I think you can be iconoclastic and artsy and serious – and still put on a little lip gloss and mascara once in awhile.

But enough about the red carpet looks.

I was thrilled that Marion Cotillard won Best Actress in an upset over Julie Christie. Not that Christie wasn’t wonderful, but Cotillard’s performance is the one that won my heart this year. I loved Ellen Page’s performance in “Juno” very nearly as much, but there will be other years for her to claim the prize. Javier Bardem and Daniel Day-Lewis were foregone conclusions, but still very deserving – and both gave nice, classy acceptance speeches.

“No Country for Old Men” – not my choice for Best Picture, but I like the Coen Brothers enough that I don’t begrudge them their awards. (My choice for Best Picture – “4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days” – wasn’t nominated for ANYTHING as we know. And yes, I know it’s a foreign language film, but foreign films can get Best Picture nominations. If “Life is Beautiful” could get one, this film certainly could.)

I’m happy that every one of the Best Picture nominees took home at least one Oscar, but disappointed that “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly” got through the evening without garnering a single award. And I wish I had done a better job of picking the technical and short film categories (I missed on both Sound awards and all the short and documentary films awards) -but baffled that I still managed to come in tied for first with my friend Bill in our party’s contest. (We each guessed 14 categories correctly

And that’s about it.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m pretty much with you, but I think it’s probably due to the strike, as the show was trimmed down to its bare essentials, and it’s probably a good thing.Also, I believe Diablo was much more Betty Rubble than Wilma, but you’re on the right track.

Comment by Fletch

Katherine Heigl reminds me of Lana Turner. It would be great if they could start remaking some of Lana’s films with her in them.I thought the dress on Daniel Day-Lewis’s companion was absolutely hideous.Other than that, I thought the fashions were pretty blah. Same old same old.PS – I forgot the Oscars were on and didn’t join them until Once took best song–YAY!!!

Comment by Marilyn

Fletch – you’re right about Diablo, of course. With that brunette hair, she’s way more Betty than Wilma.Marilyn – I’d forgotten about Mrs. Day-Lewis’ outfit, that was pretty bad. (Am I correct in remembering that she is Arthur Miller’s daughter?)

Comment by Pat

No thoughts on “Falling Slowly”? I thought that was the most memorable moment of the night.

Comment by Nayana Anthony




Leave a Reply

