Doodad Kind of Town


Can’t Write Tonight
January 22, 2008, 11:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I had planned to post some random thoughts about the Oscar nominations, but I decided to check my email first.

I wasn’t even going to open the CNN Breaking News Alert – I figured it was either about the stock market or the presidential race- but my curiosity got the best of me.

And now, I’m rather dumbstruck by the news that Heath Ledger has been found dead in a New York apartment – with sleeping pills nearby, apparently.

That’s the kind of news that kicks you in the stomach, even if you don’t give a lot of thought to Heath Ledger on a regular basis. It’s unspeakably tragic – all the more so in that it came completely out of the blue. He was so young, so promising, so vital. (It was just two years ago at this time that he got a well-deserved Oscar nomination for “Brokeback Mountain.”) And he leaves behind a very young daughter, which only compounds the tragedy.

I’m just not up to cracking wise about the Oscars tonight. Perhaps I’ll get to it tomorrow.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

The first thing I did after I found a decent enough write-up to find out the basics of what happened was think about his performance in The Brothers Grimm. I remember thinking he was the best thing about that movie, how easily he disappeared into the role. He had that ability in every part I’ve seen him play. I sincerely hope it wasn’t suicide (though I admit I thought it might be because he and Michelle Williams broke up only about 4 months ago) because he could have gotten help.He was a great one.

Comment by Marilyn




Leave a Reply

