Doodad Kind of Town


Gimme a (Spring) Break!
March 31, 2007, 7:00 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This last week has been Spring Break week in the local school system. Ostensibly, this should not affect me, as I am neither a parent, nor a teacher. (Nor a student, for that matter.)

However, my boyfriend is a parent to two teen-agers on spring break, and many of my friends are teachers who’ve been sleeping in and/or travelling to warmer climes this week. So, I have absorbed the Spring Break mindset from them, by some sort of weird osmosis.

I stayed up too late almost every night this week, reading or watching DVDs till 11:00 and later – despite the fact that my alarm was going to go off at 5:30 am the next day. And by Friday, I was paying for it. I was in bed early with a throbbing headache last night.

The weather here is not particularly “spring break”-like, however. It’s been mostly cool and cloudy. And for me, it’s been a little lonely, too, with so many friends away. So I’ll be glad to get back to ‘ordinary time’ next week.

On another note – I’ve mentioned my love of fashion magazines here before. But sometimes, even fasion magazines are just downright annoying.

On the cover of Vogue this month is this ‘teaser’ for an article inside: “Nobody’s Perfect: Seven Women Obsess about their Body Flaws. All I could think was – What a Godawful depressing article THAT must be! Why would they put that on the cover – would ANYONE want to read that? Myself, I cannot think of anything I’d want to read less than seven overpriveleged Manhattanites whining about the cellulite on their thighs. Sometimes I get to the point where I just want to hide all the magazines for a month and see what that does to my mood and outlook. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to live in a world where our physical “imperfections” didn’t trouble us so much, and food was not the enemy? Sigh…..

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

